Volunteer Awards

Nina Carlisle Volunteer Award

The Nina Carlisle Award is given to a longstanding volunteer (at least five years) who is actively involved in the activities of the Toronto Bruce Trail Club. Such volunteering could be in the areas of trail maintenance, hike leading, social event planning, communications, administrative tasks, fund raising and Board service. The award is not restricted to any one volunteer specialty.

Nina Carlisle Volunteer Award Recipients

2008 Nina Carlisle               2009 Frances Walker
2010 Malcolm Sanderson 2011 Stephen Kamnitzer
2012 Larry Haigh                 2013 Paul Vanhanen
2014 Peter Leeney              2015 Grant Leigh
2016 Teresa Karolewski     2017 David Paape
2018 Wayne Crockett          2019 Barbara Euler
2020 Vlad Bosnar
2021 Alina Lin (photo left)

Todd Bardes Volunteer Award

In 2016, the Board established an award to recognize significant volunteer contributions over a shorter time span (the last one or two years).

2017 – Deb Brander, acknowledging her groundbreaking work in re-designing the Club’s website.

2018 –   Martina Furrer, for her dedicated administration of the ski / snowshoe program.

2019 – Thomas Swales, for his tremendous contribution to the urban walks and the Hiker Initiation Program.

2020 – No award was given

2021 – Jacqueline Van Dyke

Nominate for the Awards

Nominations may be sent to volunteer@torontobrucetrailclub.org by March 15, 2022. The awards will be given out at the next Club’s Annual General Meeting.

When submitting a nomination for either award please be sure to include:

  • The name of the person being nominated
  • Volunteer position(s) held
  • Approximate number of years per position
  • And – most important – reasons why this person should be nominated for the award

More on Getting Involved